Founded by Charles E George in association with his sons Christopher and William in 1907 as Chas. E. George & Sons, Valuators and Adjusters, with its office in Filleul St. Dunedin, the practice provided Schedule of Quantities preparation services initially for local Contractors, expanding to a client list throughout the South Island, lower North Island and into the Pacific Islands.
Our very first project, a Manure Store built in 1907 for Wright Stevenson & Co. (now PGG Wrightson) by George Simpson & Co. Builders for the sum of £3,000. The rear part of this building still remains behind the Golf Warehouse store in Vogel Street, Dunedin.
The company still has its client list throughout South Island and lower North Island, serviced from its Dunedin office. The company structure consists of two Directors, a shareholder group and staff. This modern consultancy reflects and enhances the experience and reputation gained since 1907 in assisting clients with their specific commercial requirements and Chas. E. George & Sons Ltd continues to satisfy its clients’ needs, the degree of repeat business illustrating the valued services we provide.
Image by courtesy of The Fletcher Trust Archive.